A Shift in Thinking – No More Counting Calories

pic_evolution_food_pyramidOver the past two months I’ve been working with my doctors to find out why losing weight and getting my blood sugars under control has been a losing battle. Two of the docs came to the same conclusion without any prompting from me — in other words I did not tell them what the other had said. They both told me I was ‘carbohydrate intolerant’. I had never heard it put quite that way before so the researcher in me struck out to do the due diligence on the subject. From this point on I will be writing about the changes and some recipes along the way. I cut out as many carbs from my diet as possible and thus far I’m 15 pounds lighter and for the first time in a year my blood sugars are in normal ranges. Just a few months ago I thought this was it, time to to on insulin for sure. This was something I wanted to avoid at all costs. I knew that once I went on insulin the weight would be nearly impossible to get rid of. Insulin is what tells the body to store some of those carbs as fat.

Let’s say you normally eat 2000 calories a day and you also burn 2000 calories a day, so your weight will remain the same. If you inject extra insulin after eating, then out of those 2000 calories a day you will have stored 500. Now your body says, wait a minute. I need 2000 but only got 1500 so I’m still hungry. So now you eat another 500 calories but are injected with more insulin and therefore your body holds onto 100 of those extra 500 calories — of course you body says it’s still short 100 calories and you remain hungry. Meanwhile you are 600 calories heavier. Over time this will put weight on you.

Try this on for size: In the mid 80’s without any real science we were told we should be on a low fat diet. Well, if we are eating less fat then we need to eat more of something else which for the majority of America it was carb heavy foods. The number of diabetics in 1985 was 30 million. The projection for 2030 is 438 million. That’s almost half a billion people with diabetes. Check out this video — it has some great info.

I will continue to change my diet to the LCHF, or Low Carb High Fat diet and monitor what goes on. Thus far I’ve lost weight, have controlled blood sugars and have brought my cholesterol down. We shall see if that trend continues. I know it’s been a long time since posting here, but stay tuned and let us all see how things go.

About Larry Smoot

I am a writer and foodie who recently moved to Montreal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

